• Rob

Night of the Jumps Munich 2019

10 of the best FMX athletes from eight nations to storm the Olympiahalle for the Munich World Championship premiere.

On the 26thand 27thof April, 2019, the Munich crowd will witness some of the most jaw-dropping Freestyle MX action from the NIGHT of the JUMPs athletes as they tackle the biggest course to ever be built in the Olympiahalle, and perform tricks such as the technical Body Varials, Double Backflips or possibly Ruler Front Flips.

More than 80,000 fans have already witnessed the best Freestyle Motocross action from NIGHT of the JUMPs and the European Championships in the past. Since 2010, the world’s longest running Freestyle MX Sports series has been a guest in the Bavarian Capital every year.  In 2019, NIGHT of the JUMPs will for the first time in its history, host two nights of back to back action in Munich.  Also for the first time in Munich, both rounds of competition will form part of the official FIM World Championship series.

In Europe, NIGHT of the JUMPs is the original and only FMX series competing on Dirt. Munich will host one of the best rider fields ever in 2019. 10 FMX athletes from 8 nations and three continents will compete inside the Olympiahalle. The field is packed with World Champions including the reigning 5-time consecutive World Champion, Maikel Melero (ESP, 2014-2018), Libor Podmol (CZE, 2010) and Javier Villegas (CHL, 2011). Champions from other events include the 2018 Nitro World Games winner, Pat Bowden (AUS), plus X Games Gold Medallists Rob Adelberg (AUS, 2018) and Adam Jones (USA, 2007). Jones makes his long awaited return to NIGHT of the JUMPs, and as one of the most technically perfect and stylish riders, Jones will be looking return to the podium after so many years.

Of course, the local German FMX hero, Luc Ackermann will be competing and hunting his first World Championship title in 2019.  The reigning European Champion and vice-World Champion from 2018 and recently crowned X-Knights Costa Rica champion, will be looking to send all of his biggest tricks including the 360, Surfer Tsunami Flip, Flair, Egg Roll, California Roll and Double Backflip.  

Leonardo Fini from Italy has backed himself and worked on his tricks over the past 2 years and in Berlin at rounds 1 and 2, Leo landed in the Top 6 Final, thanks to a stylish run, finishing with his California Roll.  In Munich, Leo will be looking to push higher up to the podium. The Podmol Brothers will return to Munich, with Filip Podmol, the younger brother of the 2010 World Champion, Libor, and he will be looking for his first Top 6 Final berth in 2019 after missing the finals in Berlin after a 360 crash.  Brazil’s finest rider, Fred Kyrillos, will return to NIGHT of the JUMPs with his big and powerful tricks and complete the rider field in the Munich.

The crew from NIGHT of the JUMPs will build Munichs biggest dirt course inside the Olympiahalle in 2019, with over 800 tonnes of dirt.  With the new 5 metre high landing and multiple ramps which can lead to Double Backflips, Front Flips and Quarter Pipe spins, the 10 FMX athletes will have more options than ever before to show their best tricks.

For the first time ever, the World Championship series will be held as part of NIGHT of the JUMPs in the Bavarian state capital.  This will be the biggest Freestyle MX spectacle of the year in Munich. 

Advance ticket sales for NIGHT of the JUMPs Munich are in full swing.  Tickets are available for €45.90 plus fees on www.nightofthejumps.comand all good ticket agencies.

If you’re unable to be in Munich and watch the action live in person, you have the best opportunity to watch all of the action from each of the World Championship tour stops on the new NIGHT of the JUMPs LiveStream at the following link: https://www.nightofthejumps.tv/en-int/page/home-nightofthejumps

NIGHT of the JUMPs / Freestyle MX World Championship

26-27. April 2019


Munich, Germany


Luc Ackermann (GER)

Maikel Melero (ESP)

Libor Podmol (CZE)

Pat Bowden (AUS)

Rob Adelberg (AUS)

Javier Villegas (CHL)

Leonardo Fini (ITA)

Filip Podmol (CZE)

Adam Jones (USA)

Fred Kyrillos (BRA)

12 Ansichten0 Kommentare